The International Steam Pages

The Cuban Mill Numbering System

The Cuban sugar industry is run by Minaz - the sugar ministry (Ministerio de la Industria Azucarera). After the revolution, each mill was given a three digit number, the first of which reflected which of the (then) six provinces it was in (reading from west to east). Within any province the numbers were allocated in alphabetical order of mill names.

Subsequently, most of the mills had their names changed, then the country was reorganised into 15 provinces and finally a new series of numbers was allocated. Railway enthusiasts, being by nature conservative, have stuck with the original numbering system and I have used it on this CD-ROM for that reason. 

Click here for
 the Mill List.

Click on an area of the map for a more detailed mill location map.


Rob Dickinson